Chipotle Glazed Salmon

I’m out of breath and, admittedly, a little bit sweaty.  Don’t worry, it’s nothing lascivious; just a mind-clearing dance session.  Yes folks, I plugged in my iPod and cranked up my GO playlist this AM to get my creative juices flowing.  I needed to get unstuck…

Top of the GO playlist fave...Grace Potter & the Nocturnals 'Ooh La La'

…and now I’m writing.  It ain’t pretty, but it’s me getting over myself and my vanities.  Everything I write here doesn’t have to be amazing; I am the only one holding myself to that standard.  Lucky for you, if you don’t like what you are reading, you can ignore me.  My husband and kids, however, not that lucky. 

To continue with that whole ‘unvarnished’ theme, I’ll publicly announce a huge failure in the kitchen.  In an attempt to get the week off to a great start, I skipped the steaks and opted for salmon with asparagus and wild rice.  I did want to inject some spice – temps are soaring here and a good spicy warmth seems to cut right through the oppressive heat – so I created a chipotle glaze using Fleurt Chipotle Lime butter.  With no recipe on which to base the glaze, it was definitely an expirement.

I melted 4 tablespoons of Fleurt Chipotle Lime butter and then cooled it to seperate the milk fat.  I then reheated the clarified flavored butter, added a few tablespoons of soy sauce, honey, fresh lime juice and a pinch of cumin.  I let it simmer for a bit, until it reached a slightly syrupy consistency.

The salmon was simply rinsed, dried, rubbed with salt and fresh ground black pepper then grilled skinside down.  I like my asparagus grilled so I tossed it with a bit of olive oil, salt and fresh ground black pepper before grilling to bright-green-with-bite-left-to-it perfection.  The rice needs no explanation other than I luuuuv wild rice so I allowed myself this treat.  Plus, I felt like the flavor/texture stands up nicely to salmon.

All sounds good in theory, right?  In practice it was a different story altogether.  Had I pulled the salmon off the grill when I first thought of it, I would’ve been money.  Instead I got distracted and pulled it off 2 minutes too late and it was dry.  I thought the glaze might provide a little moisture, but true to form, it was too little too late.  Not enough glaze in the pan (or world) to make the salmon taste as delicious as I wanted it to be. 

The glaze itself wasn’t bad; a tad on the lime-y side, but that’s not altogether a bad thing when combined with salmon.  There was a nice latent warmth from the chipotle and a slight sweetness from the honey.  I probably could’ve used a bit more soy; the saltiness was virtually undetectable. And to be fair, the salmon could’ve used a little more flavoring pre-grill…perhaps some cumin mixed into the salt and black pepper. 

Needless to say, I was disappointed.  Had everything gone to plan, this would’ve been the perfect beginning for the week.  Did I mention that I prepared this for not just my family, but close friends also?  I doubt they’ll be taking me up on future offers to bring dinner over! 

No pictures of the meal…entirely too depressed to bother snapping pics after plating.  I will, however, indulge myself further and post my GO playlist in case you need a good dance party to get you going!

Ooh La La (Grace Potter & The Nocturnals)
Billionaire (travie McCoy)
The Cave (Mumford & Sons)
Dogs Days Are Over (Florence + the Machine)
Run This Town (Jay-Z)
Love Lockdown (Kanye West)
Human (The Killers)
Sex on Fire (Kings of Leon)
That’s Not My Name (The Ting Tings)
Suicide (The Raveonettes)
Get Up Get Out (The Rosebuds)
Out of the Blue (Julian Casablancas)
Not Fair (Lily Allen)
Little Lion Man (Mumford & Sons)
Shut Up & Let Me Go (The Ting Tings)
If Looks Could Kill  (Camera Obscura)
Ragged Wood (Fleet Foxes)
Why Do You Let Me… (She & Him)
Heartless (Kanye West)

About Fleurt Butter

Butter's been given a bad rap over the years and I'm on a mission to make butter sexy again; to take delicious, flavorful, colorful, sensuous butter. I am not a chef; I blush when I refer to myself as a 'cook' because that seems too generous. Sometimes I turn out dishes that I am incredibly proud of, often times I'm just pleased to get something on the table without burning the house down. The idea behind Fleurt is that using it in meal preparation enables me to put fabulous food on the table in front of my family and friends with a minimum risk of botching the job! I should warn you that I can not be held responsible for all grammatical errors and general rambling...I might be undergoing 'therapy' as I write (see my 1st post). I'm writing these posts and cringing as I do so. I've yet to be convinced that people actually want to read what I write, but I am hopeful that the recipes I post are used and enjoyed. I certainly have fun testing them and finding ways to bring Fleurt into my daily life!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

