A Tale of Three Pop-Tarts

My day starts at 5:30am; it’s my chance for alone time and peace while I enjoy my first cup of coffee.  With any luck I’ve remembered to record a TV program the night before so that I have something to help my mind wake up.  Luckily, this morning was not one of those mornings.

Time to break out my iPad.  Loving the Twitter app and how much people enjoy tweeting about food.  I really am stunned by the free flow of information…restaurant suggestions, food pics, recipes, local resources…it’s just so damn encouraging!  This morning’s eye-catching recipe was a tweet from @LATimesfood: Homemade Pop-Tarts: What filling would you like to use inside?

Now we’ve all enjoyed pop-tarts hot and cold, as a child and probably as an adult (guilty pleasure anyone?), but @LATimesfood hit the nail on the head with this one and really got my creative juices flowing.  Skip to me at the local farmer’s market buying supplies then rushing home to get to work!  So, down to business.

I couldn’t decide on just one filling, so I picked three.  And I took a HUGE shortcut: store-bought pie crusts.  (Seriously, though, why should I take the time to make pie dough from scratch when there’s some just calling my name from my refrigerator?) 

Here’s the lineup for my all-day pop-tart marathon: Nutella, pesto & goat cheese, onion jam. 

I read the LA Times Food article twice (click here to read it for yourself) and walked away from it, wanting to give my imagination a little wiggle room.  Definitely use the LA Times recipe as a base, and then go crazy with your fillings – and toppings, for that matter!  The more I think about it, a nice syrupy balsamic reduction would probably taste amazeballs on top of the pesto & goat cheese pop-tart…  Maybe that will be tomorrow’s breakfast?!

For the pesto, I use Giada De Laurentiis’ basil pesto recipe (google it).  What you don’t use in the pop-tarts you will be using for weeks in pasta, on your sandwiches and stirring into your scrambled eggs (don’t hate, it’s awesome).  

Pesto & goat cheese

The bacon jam recipe is one that I found on another blog: Foodie With Family (click here for recipe).  Followed it to the letter and it worked a treat.  My husband is digging the pop-tart filled with the bacon jam.  We thought this particular pop-tart would be delicious served with a poached egg or mixed leaf salad (tossed in just a dash of simple balsamic vinaigrette) on top.

Bacon jam pop-tart

Words can’t really do the Nutella pop-tart justice.  Just imagine the warm nutella oozing out of the flaky crust…

Nutella pop-tart

I should note that I did sprinkle the tops of the pop-tarts with kosher salt and sugar — not both, but salt with savory, sugar with sweet (obviously) — post egg-wash, pre-baking.

At the end of a long and tasty day, my house smells like French onion soup and I’ve changed into elastic waisted pants.  Nuf said?

About Fleurt Butter

Butter's been given a bad rap over the years and I'm on a mission to make butter sexy again; to take delicious, flavorful, colorful, sensuous butter. I am not a chef; I blush when I refer to myself as a 'cook' because that seems too generous. Sometimes I turn out dishes that I am incredibly proud of, often times I'm just pleased to get something on the table without burning the house down. The idea behind Fleurt is that using it in meal preparation enables me to put fabulous food on the table in front of my family and friends with a minimum risk of botching the job! I should warn you that I can not be held responsible for all grammatical errors and general rambling...I might be undergoing 'therapy' as I write (see my 1st post). I'm writing these posts and cringing as I do so. I've yet to be convinced that people actually want to read what I write, but I am hopeful that the recipes I post are used and enjoyed. I certainly have fun testing them and finding ways to bring Fleurt into my daily life!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Tale of Three Pop-Tarts

  1. Tammy McLeod says:

    so after guiness steak pie, my dh was headed your way. Now homemade poptarts? seriously? my kids love nutella and I’m sure they’ll be pounding on your door soon. Actually, it’s a great idea and I love the idea of the savory varieties.

Leave a Reply

