Utter Butter Bliss

I’m watching something that I hope will be inspirational…Julie & Julia. This is not my first viewing, and I read the book first, but I’m in a lull. Overwhelmed by red tape with the Health Department and (yet again) life in general, I’m zapped. So…a movie about food, BUTTER, experimenting with food, more BUTTER, and adventures in NYC and France is the perfect remedy to my blah-ness (yes, that is a technical term).

I toyed with the idea of doing the ‘Julia Experiment’ and then realized I barely have time to cook my family quick dinners every night; how would I ever manage to get delicious fresh ingredients, decipher a Julia Childs recipe, and on top of everything else manage to cook the dish?! My plan quickly fell by the wayside and I just decided to embrace the one constant of Julia’s cooking: butter.

Watching Julie & Julia isn’t the only ‘therapy’ I’ve undergone this week. I don’t really understand what’s happening with my girls. They are constantly at each other’s throats and there is the need for a referee (me). Admittedly it got to be too much a few nights ago and I took the girls to McDonald’s, mistakenly thinking that a Happy Meal might do the trick. No luck. While the girls played in the bathtub I retreated to the dark recesses of the guest bedroom for a good cry. Shock, horror…I left my children unsupervised in the bathtub! I’d like it noted that at that point, alone in the bathrub was a much safer option. If I heard one more ‘Georgie hit me!’ or ‘Lily splashed me!’ I don’t know what I would have done.

Therapy!!

Anyway, so after a good bawl, Ben’s return from work, and dropping both girls very unceremoniously in bed, I finally took a deep breath. The next day was a bit better and I was quite happy to setup the girls with Playdoh to keep me company while I cooked dinner. While Rosenshontz is not my preferred soundtrack for therapy, it kept Georgie happy long enough for me to make delicious lemon pepper breaded chicken tenderloins, mashed potatoes and cucumber slices for the girls and a bastardized chicken piccata (with a pan sauce finished with Roasted Garlic Herb Butter), mashed potatoes and salad for Ben and me. Ben’s unsolicited review of the meal was ‘pretty good’ and I was thrilled with that!

To close, here’s a great quote from the movie…

“Is there anything better than butter? Think it over, any time you taste something that’s delicious beyond imagining and you say ‘what’s in this?’ the answer is always going to be butter. The day there is a meteorite rushing toward Earth and we have thirty days to live, I am going to spend it eating butter. Here is my final word on the subject, you can never have too much butter.”

Pretty much sums it up, don’t you think?

About Fleurt Butter

Butter's been given a bad rap over the years and I'm on a mission to make butter sexy again; to take delicious, flavorful, colorful, sensuous butter. I am not a chef; I blush when I refer to myself as a 'cook' because that seems too generous. Sometimes I turn out dishes that I am incredibly proud of, often times I'm just pleased to get something on the table without burning the house down. The idea behind Fleurt is that using it in meal preparation enables me to put fabulous food on the table in front of my family and friends with a minimum risk of botching the job! I should warn you that I can not be held responsible for all grammatical errors and general rambling...I might be undergoing 'therapy' as I write (see my 1st post). I'm writing these posts and cringing as I do so. I've yet to be convinced that people actually want to read what I write, but I am hopeful that the recipes I post are used and enjoyed. I certainly have fun testing them and finding ways to bring Fleurt into my daily life!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Utter Butter Bliss

  1. Holly says:

    I love your honesty Sharon…it’s so refreshing from a foodie blog.

Leave a Reply

