Leftovers Are A Thing Of The Past!

I’ll be honest, I’m terrible at gauging how much I need to cook to feed my family.  Nine times out of ten there are leftovers and while they are a saving grace for me (no prep time & fewer dishes – wahoo!), my kids hate them. 

I still remember ‘leftover nights’ from my childhood…the kitchen counter would be lined with refrigerator dishes, a veritable buffet of leftover food in varying states of decay (sorry

A lifesaver for any night of the week!

 mom).  While there were some coveted leftovers like taco meat and macaroni & cheese, there were others that were definitely to be avoided: pink pineapple, fuzzy peas, dressed salad. 

I tell you this because I’m pretty sure the face I used to make when I saw the counter lined with tupperware is the same face my kids make when they see my rear-end sticking out of the refrigerator as I rummage around to get the dishes out of the waaaaay back. 

But I have found the cure!  If you use Fleurt the first go-round, there probably won’t be much leftover to begin with.  However, if there are leftovers then think about Fleurt as a way to resuscitate the flavors and aromas of the ghosts of dishes past. 

Take tonight, for example.  I had some grilled chicken leftover from last and enough spaghetti noodles to keep Kirstie Alley satisfied for at least a few days.  I am not exaggerating when I tell you that I threw the noodles and some diced chicken into a pot with 2 T of Fleurt Sundried Tomato Butter, warmed it thru and put it in front of my kids.  Joy of joys, they cleaned their bowls!

About Fleurt Butter

Butter's been given a bad rap over the years and I'm on a mission to make butter sexy again; to take delicious, flavorful, colorful, sensuous butter. I am not a chef; I blush when I refer to myself as a 'cook' because that seems too generous. Sometimes I turn out dishes that I am incredibly proud of, often times I'm just pleased to get something on the table without burning the house down. The idea behind Fleurt is that using it in meal preparation enables me to put fabulous food on the table in front of my family and friends with a minimum risk of botching the job! I should warn you that I can not be held responsible for all grammatical errors and general rambling...I might be undergoing 'therapy' as I write (see my 1st post). I'm writing these posts and cringing as I do so. I've yet to be convinced that people actually want to read what I write, but I am hopeful that the recipes I post are used and enjoyed. I certainly have fun testing them and finding ways to bring Fleurt into my daily life!
This entry was posted in Quickies and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

