Urban Food Retreat

My to-do list was looking pretty daunting this morning so I’m glad I made plans to meet my brother-in-law (and small business mentor), Scot, at the Urban Grocery & Wine Bar for lunch today.  I didn’t expect my 2 year old daughter, Georgie, to provide comic relief, but she was on good form and her beckoning calls of “Hey man! What’s you doin?” and “Sock! Come back!” made everyone chuckle.  Oh, I should probably explain that Georgie calls Scot ‘Sock’.  Too cute.

The drive from NW Phoenix to the Downtown Phoenix Public Market, where Urban Grocery is located, is inspiring.  There are so many cool, local hangouts that I think I’m probably a hazard to other drivers as my head swivels around trying to take in the names of all the new urban hotspots.  Places like Verde, Sans, and Matt’s Big Breakfast sound and look amazing, but I think I found the perfect all-in-one at Urban Grocery.

One of the produce cold cases at Urban Grocery.

Aside from the design of the place, I love that when you walk in you see mounds of fresh produce from a local farm and can smell the fabulous coffee percolating next door.  Heaven!  I needed some inspiration for dinner tonight so I picked up some French fingerling potatoes (to smash and toss with Fleurt Roasted Garlic Herb Butter, natch). 

Their dairy case was impressive in that it was all relatively local; most everything was from Arizona, and what wasn’t came from California – close enough to be considered local.  Beautiful ice creams, gelatos, and of course gallons of Shamrock milks.  I can’t help but think how great Fleurt would fit into the dairy case at Urban Grocery — I will definitely be delivering a sample pack to their buyer next week!

Market Sampler at Urban Grocery : open-face roast beef sandwich, BLT with red pepper mayo, pulled pork bbq sandwich, coleslaw, beet & walnut salad, cold quinoa salad, beet bisque, chicken soup.

Scot was patient while I nattered away about Fleurt being on their shelves and also picked his brain about loans, LLCs and general business startup issues, so I thought I should buy him some lunch.  We shared a delicious market sampler (see pic) and I can’t believe how yummy it all was – even the dishes loaded with beets!  Georgie happily munched on her goldfish, with the occasional bite of beet (wahoo!) and avocado, while Scot and I continued talking about next steps for Fleurt Butter

The long and short of it is that my to-do list is still just as long but it’s now organized in a logical set of steps that will hopefully ensure the success of Fleurt!

PS: the samples for my larger (7oz) retail containers arrived this afternoon.  Thankfully they are exactly what I was hoping for!

About Fleurt Butter

Butter's been given a bad rap over the years and I'm on a mission to make butter sexy again; to take delicious, flavorful, colorful, sensuous butter. I am not a chef; I blush when I refer to myself as a 'cook' because that seems too generous. Sometimes I turn out dishes that I am incredibly proud of, often times I'm just pleased to get something on the table without burning the house down. The idea behind Fleurt is that using it in meal preparation enables me to put fabulous food on the table in front of my family and friends with a minimum risk of botching the job! I should warn you that I can not be held responsible for all grammatical errors and general rambling...I might be undergoing 'therapy' as I write (see my 1st post). I'm writing these posts and cringing as I do so. I've yet to be convinced that people actually want to read what I write, but I am hopeful that the recipes I post are used and enjoyed. I certainly have fun testing them and finding ways to bring Fleurt into my daily life!
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

