In the beginning…

Wow…I’d love to wax philosophical about why I’m starting this adventure, but I think that would make for a boring post.  Instead I’ll tell you that I’m a [relatively] young mother of two kids (Lily & Georgie) and I am desperately trying to make something that’s just mine.  Hence, Fleurt Butter.  I love the process of cooking.  Anyone that’s been around me when I’m in the kitchen knows that it’s my ‘happy place’.  Other than hitting the bottle (not until after the kids are in bed, of course) and coloring in Lily’s coloring books, cooking is my therapy. 

What’s even more gratifying is when I cook something for someone else, which is the idea behind Fleurt Butter.  If I don’t know you and can’t make your life easier by delivering a meal directly to your door, then at least I can be in your grocer’s dairy case (laughing to myself as I picture my head poking out of the grocery fridge)!  

Yummy MAPLE BACON butter!!

 

So what’s happening with Fleurt at present?  I’ve enlisted the help of my family to get the business up and running.  I’m in the process of making sample pots (smaller versions of the final product — see pic) to deliver to local grocery stores in hopes that they will want to stoock their shelves with these pots of delicious butter.  I’m also going to be constructing a box garden in my backyard that will allow me to grow (organically) my own herbs, tomatoes and jalapenos.  I have a notoriously black thumb and combined with the desert climate I’m not sure how I’ll fair so watch this space… 

 
About Fleurt Butter

Butter's been given a bad rap over the years and I'm on a mission to make butter sexy again; to take delicious, flavorful, colorful, sensuous butter. I am not a chef; I blush when I refer to myself as a 'cook' because that seems too generous. Sometimes I turn out dishes that I am incredibly proud of, often times I'm just pleased to get something on the table without burning the house down. The idea behind Fleurt is that using it in meal preparation enables me to put fabulous food on the table in front of my family and friends with a minimum risk of botching the job! I should warn you that I can not be held responsible for all grammatical errors and general rambling...I might be undergoing 'therapy' as I write (see my 1st post). I'm writing these posts and cringing as I do so. I've yet to be convinced that people actually want to read what I write, but I am hopeful that the recipes I post are used and enjoyed. I certainly have fun testing them and finding ways to bring Fleurt into my daily life!
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

